Running Checkpoint

I achieved a long standing personal goal this past Saturday running around the Lunken Airport  5 mile trail……twice. 10 miles. I believe it’s the farthest I’ve ever ran recalling a couple of 8 mile runs, one to my high school and back and (probably more than) once in Athens, OH between 2006 and 2008.

It was cloudy and cold and still misting from some passing morning showers. I began running around 12:15. I decided to not even look at the time because my only goal was completing the 10 miles without you know, dying. I ended up wearing an extra jacket I didn’t need and a light knit hat that was on and off my head about every mile. When it got too hot I took off my hat and put it in a pocket and unzipped my jacket. Sweat is a great thing and a few minutes later I was zipped back up with a my hat on.

The first 5 weren’t bad. Around 3 or 4 miles I started realizing I should at least go for the 10 even if I have to walk and started to pace and slow a little bit to a 9:00 to 9:30 mile. I completed the the first lap, got 2 mouth-fulls of water from inside the airport lobby, changed music on my i-pod from EVR radio, (Saturday Special feat. ulray zukowski (sp?), (dj from Authentic Shit?)) to a collection of my favorite Led Zeppelin tracks, and moved on.

Around 8 min I felt the hand of god stop my legs, so I walked for about 20 seconds, but immediately got back into a 9:45-10:00 pace and ended up finishing like that. All in all not too bad. My goal would be to do it more comfortably and a little faster of course.

Saturday was also record store day so I checked out Shake it records around 5, way too late to pick up a copy of The Flaming Lips and Heady Fwends and a White Stripes 7″ re-release of Hand Springs.

One thought on “Running Checkpoint

Leave a Reply

